Home   »   General Studies   »   List of Indian State/UT Animal 2023

List of Indian State/UT Animal 2023

State and UT Animals

India is rich in biodiversity and nature. Nature is made of various species of animals and birds. The flora and fauna of India make it more colorful. In India, there are 28 states and 8 Union territories and each one of them has a different state or Union territory animal. The state animal of Andhra Pradesh is Blackbuck and the UT Animal of Ladakh is Snow Leopard, which was declared recently. The state animal of Chhattisgarh which is the wild buffalo is going extinct after the death of the sole female Buffalo in Chhattisgarh. In this article, you’ll about the different state/UT animals of India with their scientific names.

List Of Top 10 Highest Mountain Peaks In India With Important Facts

List of State Animals

Sl. No. State Animal Scientific Name
1. Andhra Pradesh Blackbuck Antilope cervicapra
2. Arunachal Pradesh Gayal/Mithun Bos frontalis
3. Assam One-horned rhinoceros Rhinoceros unicornis
4. Bihar Gaur Bos gaurus
5. Chhattisgarh Wild Buffalo Bubalus bubalis arnee
6. Goa Gaur Bos gaurus
7. Gujarat Asiatic lion Panthera leo persica
8. Haryana Blackbuck Antilope cervicapra
9. Himachal Pradesh Snow Leopard Uncia uncia or Panthera uncia
10. Jharkhand Indian Elephant Elephas maximus indicus
11. Karnataka Indian Elephant Elephas maximus indicus
12. Kerala Indian Elephant Elephas maximus indicus
13. Madhya Pradesh Barasingha swamp deer Rucervus duvaucelii
14. Maharastra Indian giant squirrel Ratufa indica
15. Manipur Sangai Cervus eldi eldi
16. Meghalaya Clouded leopard Neofelis nebulosa
17. Mizoram Himalayan serow Capricornis thar
18. Nagaland Gayal/Mithun Bos frontalis
19. Odisha Sambar Rusa unicolor
20. Punjab Blackbuck Antilope cervicapra
21. Rajasthan Chinkara Gazella bennetti
22. Sikkim Red Panda Ailurus fulgens
23. Tamil Nadu Nilgiri tahr Nilgiritragus hylocrius
24. Telangana Spotted deer Axis axis
25. Tripura Phayre’s langur Trachypithecus phayrei
26. Uttar Pradesh Swamp Deer Rucervus duvaucelii
27. Uttarakhand Alpine Musk Deer Moschus chrysogaster
28. West Bengal Fishing Cat Prionailurus viverrinus

List of Union Territories Animals

Sl.No Union Territory Animal Scientific Name
1. Andaman & Nicobar Dugong Dugong dugon
2. Chandigarh Indian Grey Mongoose Herpestes edwardsi
3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
4. Delhi Nilgai Boselaphus tragocamelus
5. Jammu and Kashmir Kashmir Stag Cervus elaphus hanglu
6. Lakshadweep Butterfly Fish Chaetodon decussatus
7. Puducherry Squirrel Funambulus palmarum
8. Ladakh Snow Leopard Uncia uncia or Panthera uncia

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *