Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   Vijay Hazare Trophy Final: Saurashtra beat...

Vijay Hazare Trophy Final: Saurashtra beat Maharashtra by 5 wickets

Vijay Hazare Trophy Final: Saurashtra beat Maharashtra by 5 wickets_4.1

Vijay Hazare Trophy Final

Saurashtra beat Maharashtra by 5 wickets in the final to win the Vijay Hazare Trophy at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, Gujarat. They restricted Maharashtra at 248/9 in 50 overs as captain Ruturaj Gaikwad hit a century, scoring 108 off 131 balls after a slow start. Saurashtra bowler Chirag Jani claimed a hat-trick in the match. Man of the moment is Sheldon Jackson

Chasing the target of 249, Saurashtra started off cautiously before the openers sitiched a 125-run partnership. Batter Shledon Jackson held one end as wickets tumbled around him. He scored a match-winning 133 off 136 balls to help Saurashtra chase down the target in 46.3 overs, with five wickets to spare. It was Saurashtra’s second title triumph in history.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

Notably: The win enhanced Jaydev Unadkat’s credentials as captain, he had led Saurashtra to their first Ranji Trophy title in 2019-2020. He also finished at the top of the wicket-taking charts in the Vijay Hazare Trophy with 19 strikes to his name.

Full List of Award Winners:

  • Player of the match in the final: Sheldon Jackson (133 runs in 135 Balls)
  • Player of the tournament: Ruturaj Gaikwad (Games: 5; Runs: 660; Avg: 220)
  • Most Runs: N Jagadeesan (Tamil Nadu): 830runs, 8 innings
  • Highest Score: N Jagadeesan – 277 off 141 balls vs Arunachal Pradesh
  • Most Fours: N Jagadeesan – 73 in 8 innings
  • Most Sixes: Ruturaj Gaikwad – 34 in 5 innings
  • Most Wickets: Vasuki Koushik (Karnataka) – 18 wickets in 9 matches

Vijay Hazare Trophy Final: Saurashtra beat Maharashtra by 5 wickets_5.1


NADA India to host Inclusion Conclave for the first time to focus on athletes with disabilities_90.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *