Home   »   State News   »   WB to form 7 new districts,...

WB to form 7 new districts, making a total of 30 districts

The Mamata Banerjee-led West Bengal government has chosen to create seven new districts in the state in an effort to streamline administrative procedures. With this, there are currently 30 districts in West Bengal as a whole. There used to be 23 districts in Bengal, but the number will become 30. Sunderban, Ichhemati, Ranaghat, Bishnupur, Jangipur, Behrampur, and one more district would be named in Basirhat are among the seven new districts, according to West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

West Bengal: Location and Demography


Along the Bay of Bengal, in eastern India, is the state of West Bengal.

Population and Area:

It is India’s fourth-most populous and thirteenth-largest state in terms of area, with about 90.3 million residents. It is also the eighth-most populous country subdivision in the world, with an area of 88,752 sq. km.

Neighbouring Countries:

It borders Bangladesh in the east, Nepal, and Bhutan in the north, and it is a part of the Bengal area of the Indian subcontinent.

Neighbouring States:

It has boundaries with the states of Assam, Jharkhand, Bihar, Sikkim, and Odisha in India.

Capital and Ethnicity:

Kolkata, India’s third-largest metropolis and seventh-largest city by population, serves as the state capital. Bengali Hindus make up the majority of the state’s population and are the dominant ethnic group.

Things to Remember about West Bengal

  • Capital of West Bengal: Kolkata
  • Chief Minister of West Bengal: Mamta Banerjee
  • Population of West Bengal: 9.03 crores (90.3 million)

Find More State In News Here

WB to form 7 new districts, making a total of 30 districts_4.1
Kerala leads in hosting legislative sessions in 2021_80.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *