Home   »   Ajit Doval Leads Indian Delegation at...

Ajit Doval Leads Indian Delegation at SCO Security Council Meeting

The 19th annual meeting of the secretaries of the security councils of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) member states was held in Astana, Kazakhstan, from 2 to 3 April 2024. The Indian delegation was led by the National Security Advisor (NSA) Ajit Doval. He also met Kazakhstan President Kassym-Jomart Tokayev, the current Chairman of SCO.

Agenda of the Meeting

President Tokayev advocated adopting a Cooperation Programme to counter terrorism, separatism, and extremism for 2025-2027 and the SCO Anti-Drug Strategy for 2024-2029.

He mentioned that countering “three evil forces” – terrorism, separatism and extremism – along with transnational organised crime, drug trafficking and cybersecurity challenges remain priorities during Kazakhstan’s chairmanship in the SCO.

Doval Calls for Improving Security Situation

NSA Ajit Doval strongly condemned the terrorist attack in Moscow, Russia, and highlighted the threat of terrorism in the region. He suggested various ways to improve the security situation of the nations.

India’s Stance on Afghanistan

On Afghanistan, Doval said India has legitimate security and economic interests. He expressed deep concern over the security situation and called upon the SCO to provide humanitarian assistance, combat terrorism, and ensure the formation of an inclusive and representative government.

Doval mentioned India’s humanitarian steps, including investing $3 Billion, supplying 50,000 MT of wheat, 250 Tons of medical aid, and 40,000 litres of Malathion pesticide to fight the locust menace in Afghanistan.

However, India does not recognize the present Taliban government in Afghanistan.

About the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)

  • Established on June 15, 2001, replacing the Shanghai Five organisation.
  • Founding members: China, Kazakhstan, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan.
  • 9 permanent members: China, Russia, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, India (joined in 2017), Pakistan (joined in 2017), and Iran (joined in 2023).
  • 3 observer members: Afghanistan, Belarus, and Mongolia.
  • Headquarters: Beijing, China
  • Current Chairman: Kazakhstan

PolicyBazaar Establishes Wholly Owned Subsidiary 'PB Pay Private Limited': Expansion into Payment Aggregation Services_80.1