Home   »   State News   »   Chief Minister of Nagaland and NDPP...

Chief Minister of Nagaland and NDPP leader Neiphiu Rio takes the oath of office

Chief Minister of Nagaland and NDPP leader Neiphiu Rio takes the oath of office_4.1

Neiphiu Rio, the leader of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), took the oath of office as the Chief Minister of Nagaland. Governor La Ganesan gave the 72-year-old lawmaker the oath of secrecy. Mr. Rio is serving his fifth term and second consecutive term as the NDPP’s leader. The deputy chief ministers of Nagaland, Taditui Rangkau Zeliang and Yanthungo Patton took the oath at Kohima among other Rio Cabinet members. Neiphiu Rio is contesting from home constituency Northern Angami-II. 

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

The BJP president J.P. Nadda, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Federal Home Minister Amit Shah, Nagaland Governor La Ganesan, and Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma were all present at the oath-taking event in Kohima. In the just-completed Nagaland elections, the NDPP-BJP partnership gained 37 seats in the Assembly, which consists of 60 members.

There are a total of 37 MLAs in the NDPP-BJP alliance in Nagaland, but there is hardly any opposition in the 60-member House because almost all of the remaining 23 MLAs from different parties and Independents have endorsed the government. In Nagaland, seven NDPP and five BJP MLAs received cabinet positions. The alliance formed by Mr. Rio then received letters of support from all other parties in the State. Since the beginning of the election campaign, Mr. Rio has been positioned as the chief ministerial candidate for both the NDPP and the BJP.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • Nagaland Capital: Kohima (Executive Branch);
  • Nagaland Official flower: Rhododendron arboreum;
  • Nagaland Official bird: Blyth’s tragopan;
  • Nagaland Official tree: Alnus nepalensis.

You may also read this:

Find More State In News Here

Chief Minister of Nagaland and NDPP leader Neiphiu Rio takes the oath of office_5.1


President Sh. Murmu appoints Dr CV Ananda Bose as Governor of West Bengal_80.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *