Home   »   Miscellaneous   »   DigiYatra facilities starts at the Delhi,...

DigiYatra facilities starts at the Delhi, Varanasi and Bangalore airport

DigiYatra facilities starts at the Delhi, Varanasi and Bangalore airport_4.1

The Central government on December 1 launched its facial recognition system DigiYatra at Delhi, Bangalore and Varanasi airports, which will allow domestic passengers to seamlessly travel without an identification card. The Civil Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia launched the service at Delhi’s Indira Gandhi International Airport. The service will enable passengers to travel paperless through biometric facial recognition technology (FRT).

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

To use this facility, one-time registration on the DigiYatra app is required using Aadhar-based validation and a self-image capture. At the airport, passengers will have to scan their bar coded boarding pass, which they can download on their phone and the facial recognition system installed at the e-gate will validate their identity and travel documents. Passengers can then enter the airport through the e-gate.

What is DigiYatra?

DigiYatra is based on facial recognition technology and will make the boarding process faster and seamless. Passengers will have to register on the DigiYatra app through their respective Aadhaar cards to avail the service. The initiative will automate the entry and verification of passengers at all airports checkpoints and will use facial features to establish a traveller’s identity and link it to their respective boarding passes. This will result in shorter wait times in lines, quicker processing times, and simpler procedures for the passengers.

Who developed the DigiYatra?

Digi Yatra has been promoted by the Union Ministry of Civil Aviation. To develop a facial recognition system at the airports, Digi Yatra Foundation was set up in 2019. The Digi Yatra Foundation is a joint venture of the Airport Authority of India (AAI), Cochin International Airport (CIAL), Bangalore International Airport (BIAL), Delhi International Airport Ltd. (DIAL), Hyderabad International Airport Ltd (HIAL) & Mumbai International Airport Ltd (MIAL).

Find More Miscellaneous News Here


DigiYatra facilities starts at the Delhi, Varanasi and Bangalore airport_5.1


100 National Monuments illuminated to mark India's Assumption of G -20 Presidency_80.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *