Home   »   New Zealand's Colin Munro Announces Retirement...

New Zealand’s Colin Munro Announces Retirement from International Cricket

In a surprising move, Colin Munro, the hard-hitting New Zealand top-order batsman, has announced his retirement from international cricket after being overlooked for the upcoming T20 World Cup. The decision marks the end of an era for the explosive left-hander, who etched his name as one of the most destructive T20 batters in the world.

Munro’s Impressive Career Stats

Throughout his international career, Munro donned the Kiwi colors in 1 Test, 57 ODIs, and 65 T20Is, amassing a total of 3,010 runs. However, it was in the shortest format of the game that Munro truly showcased his batting prowess, earning a reputation as a T20 specialist.

In T20Is, Munro struck runs at an impressive strike rate of 156.44, a testament to his ability to take the opposition attack apart. The 37-year-old remains one of the few players to have scored upwards of 10,000 runs across all T20 competitions, a remarkable feat in itself.

Munro’s T20 Legacy

Born in Durban, South Africa, Munro has carved out an illustrious T20 career, scoring a total of 10,961 runs from 428 T20s at an average of 30.44 and a blistering strike rate of 141.25. His ability to score quickly and put bowlers under immense pressure made him a sought-after commodity in various T20 leagues around the globe.

Despite his retirement from international cricket, Munro is expected to continue plying his trade in these lucrative T20 tournaments, where his explosive batting style will undoubtedly continue to enthrall fans worldwide.

Records and Milestones

Munro’s career is adorned with several remarkable records and milestones. His 14-ball 50 against Sri Lanka at Eden Park in 2016 remains the fastest T20I fifty by a New Zealand batsman and the fourth-quickest of all time. He also holds the distinction of scoring a 47-ball century against the West Indies in 2018, which was the fastest T20I hundred by a Kiwi at the time.

Moreover, Munro became the first player to score three T20I centuries, cementing his status as one of the most prolific batters in the shortest format of the game.

List of Cricket Stadiums in Andhra Pradesh_70.1