Home   »   Odisha Cabinet Ministers List 2024

Odisha Cabinet Ministers List 2024, New Cabinet Formation

In a historic moment, Odisha witnessed a significant political transition as Mohan Charan Majhi was sworn in as the state’s first BJP Chief Minister at the Janata Maidan in Bhubaneswar. This event marks the end of the Biju Janata Dal’s (BJD) 24-year reign in the state, ushering in a new era of governance under the leadership of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

New Leadership and Victory

The new cabinet consists of 22 ministers, including the Chief Minister and two Deputy Chief Ministers – Pravati Parida and Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo. Pravati Parida’s appointment as the first woman Deputy Chief Minister of Odisha is a significant milestone in the state’s political landscape.

The BJP’s victory in the assembly elections brought a remarkable change, ending the long reign of the BJD led by Naveen Patnaik. The BJP secured a comfortable majority, winning 78 out of 147 seats, while the BJD managed to win 51 seats, and the Congress secured 14 seats.

Key Cabinet Members

Name Position
Mohan Charan Majhi Chief Minister
Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo Deputy CM
Pravati Parida Deputy CM
Suresh Pujari Minister
Rabi Narayan Naik Minister
Nityananda Gond Minister
Krushna Chandra Patra Minister
Prithviraj Harichandan Minister
Dr. Mukesh Mahaling Minister
Bibhuti Bhushan Jena Minister
Dr. Krushna Chandra Mahapatra Minister
Ganesh Ram Singkhuntia Minister of State (MoS) with Independent Charge
Suryabanshi Suraj Minister of State (MoS) with Independent Charge
Pradeep Bala Samanta Minister of State (MoS) with Independent Charge
Gokulananda Mallik Minister of State (MoS) with Independent Charge
Sampad Charan Swain Minister of State (MoS) with Independent Charge

Notable figures include Suresh Pujari, who won the Brajarajnagar Assembly constituency, defeating the BJD candidate by a significant margin of 26,789 votes, and Rabi Narayan Naik, victorious in the Kuchinda Assembly constituency with a margin of 32,220 votes over the BJD candidate.

Ministers of State (MoS) with Independent Charge

Five MLAs were appointed as Ministers of State with Independent Charge, including Ganesh Ram Singh Khuntia (Jashipur), Suryabanshi Suraj Sthitaprajna (Dhamnagar), Pradeep Bal Samanta (Sukinda), Gokula Nanda Mallik (Polasara), and Sampad Chandra Swain (Paradeep).

A New Era for Odisha

As Odisha prepares for this transition of power, the focus is on the incoming government and its plans for the state’s future. With Chief Minister Mohan Charan Majhi, a prominent tribal leader from the Santhal community, and 15 ministers inducted into the cabinet on June 12, 2024, expectations are high.

Majhi’s victory in Keonjhar, where he defeated the BJD’s Mina Majhi by a margin of 11,577 votes, and Pravati Parida’s appointment as Deputy Chief Minister after winning her first assembly seat from Nimapara, symbolize the changing political landscape in Odisha.

Odisha Cabinet Ministers List 2024, New Cabinet Formation_4.1