Home   »   State News   »   Rajasthan to have three new districts:...

Rajasthan to have three new districts: CM Ashok Gehlot

Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot recently revealed plans to establish three new districts in the state: Malpura, Sujangarh, and Kuchman City. This development comes ahead of the upcoming Assembly election, bringing the total number of districts in Rajasthan to 53. The state government had previously created 17 new districts in August of the same year. This move is part of the government’s efforts to address public demands and align with recommendations from a high-level committee.

New Districts Created to Meet Public Demand:

The decision to create these new districts reflects the government’s commitment to meeting public demand and adhering to the high-level committee’s recommendations. Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot emphasized that future district demarcation decisions will also be guided by the committee’s reports.

Details of the New Districts:

  1. Malpura: This district will be carved out of the existing Tonk district.
  2. Sujangarh: Sujangarh will be created from the Churu district.
  3. Kuchaman City: Kuchaman will emerge as a new district from Nagaur.

Model Code of Conduct and Timing:

The announcement of these new districts comes just before the enforcement of the model code of conduct for the Assembly election scheduled for December. This timing is significant as it showcases the government’s responsiveness to the public’s demands and needs.

Committee’s Role in District Demarcation:

The high-level committee, led by former civil servant Ram Lubhaya, played a crucial role in recommending the creation of these districts. The committee’s tenure was extended by six months to ensure that people could provide their suggestions and opinions regarding district formation. This move aimed to address concerns and protests from various parts of the state regarding the inclusion of specific areas or the demand for new districts.

Rajasthan to have three new districts: CM Ashok Gehlot_5.1