Current Affairs   »   The Seven Wonders of the World   »   The Seven Wonders of the World

The Seven Wonders of the World

What are the Seven wonders of the world?

The seven wonders of the world include some of the greatest architectural masterpieces from around the world. The list of seven wonders of the world includes the Taj Mahal from India, the Great Wall of China from China, Christ the Redeemer Statue from Rio de Janeiro, Machu Picchu from Peru, Chichen Itza from Mexico, The Roman Colosseum from Rome, and Petra from Jordan.

40 UNESCO World Heritage Sites In India 2022

 The Great Pyramid of Giza has also been added to the list of seven wonders of the world, however, it remains an honorary candidate, and not one of the seven wonders of the world. The New7Wonders Swiss Foundation launched a campaign in 2000 to choose the new seven wonders of the world. In 2007, the above-mentioned architectural masterpieces came out as the winners and were categorized as the ‘Seven Wonders of the World.

List of Seven Wonders of the World

Seven Wonders of the World Country About/Interesting facts
Taj Mahal Agra, India
  • Taj Mahal was built by Emperor Shah Jahan
  • It was built between 1632-1653
  • Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan dedicated the Taj Mahal to his wife Mumtaz Mahal.
The Great Wall of China China
  • The Great wall of China was built by the Qin Dynasty, Ming Dynasty
  • The construction of the Great Wall of China started in the 7th century BC.
  • It is 3,889 miles long.
Christ the Redeemer Statue Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Christ the Redeemer Statue was designed by sculptor Paul Landowski and built by Heitor da Silva Costa and Albert Caquot.
  • It was built from 1922 to 1931.
Machu Picchu Cuzco Region, Peru
  • Machu Picchu was built by Incan Empire.
  • The construction started from 1450 to 1460.
  • Machu Picchu is about 8,000 feet long.
Chichen Itza Yucatan, Mexico
  • Chichen Itza was built by Maya-Toltec Civilization.
  • It was built between the 5th- 13th centuries.
The Roman Colosseum Rome, Italy
  • The Roman Colosseum was built by Emperor Vespasian of the Flavian dynasty.
  • It was built in A.D. 70-72.
  • It holds the Guinness Book of World Records as the largest Amphitheatre in the world.
Petra Ma’an, Jordan
  • Petra was built by the Nabataeans, during the 5th century BC.

Seven Wonders of the World

  1. Taj Mahal- The Taj Mahal holds one of the greatest historical values in the world. It is located in Agra, India. The Taj Mahal is the housing of the tomb of Mumtaz Mahal, wife of the Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan. The emperor loved his wife dearly and to commemorate the death of his beloved wife he built the Taj Mahal. The construction of the Taj Mahal took 17 years, and 22,000 laborers, painters, embroidery artists, and stone cutters. Also, 1000 elephants were included in the construction of the Taj Mahal and the construction was completed in 1632. 28 different types of precious and semi-precious stones were used to decorate the Taj Mahal. In 1983, the Taj Mahal was inscribed as World Heritage Site by UNESCO.
  2. The Colosseum- The Colosseum is situated in Rome, Italy. It is one of the seven wonders of the world and is also known as the Flavian Amphitheatre. The Colosseum is in the center of the city and it is an oval-shaped amphitheater. It was constructed from sand and concrete and it is the largest amphitheater in the world. The initial construction of the Colosseum started in AD 72 by Emperor Vespasian and was completed by AD 80 by his successor, Titus. Another Emperor of the Flavian dynasty made some modifications to the Colosseum. Approximately 10 thousand laborers were used to build the masterpiece. It had the capacity of holding 80,000 spectators and 80 entrances at the time of its construction.
  3. Chichen Itza- Chichen Itza is situated in Yucatan, Mexico. The structures of Chichen Itza are temples, arcades, and pyramids. It is believed to be one of the major cities of the ancient Mayan world and the constitution in the city exhibit various architectural styles. According to Maya astronomy, the Temple of Kukullan in Chichen Itza is an archaeological marvel. The Temple of Kukullan has 365 steps that depict each day of the year. There are 91 steps on each of the four sides and the platform at the top serves as the 365th step. In the 1400s, Chichen Itza was abandoned, and it is still not known why people left.
  4. Machu Picchu- Machu Picchu is one of the seven wonders of the world situated in the Cusco Region of the Machupicchu district of Peru. Machu Picchu serves magnificent visuals and attracts millions of people every year. The majority of archeologists suggest that the Inca emperor Pachacuti built Machu Picchu around 1450. The site was developed into a city, however, a century later it was abandoned during Spanish Conquest. Machu Picchu remained unknown for years before it was discovered by the American explorer Hiram Bingham. It depicts the Incan way of life. The placement of important structures in Machu Picchu is strongly influenced by the location of nearby mountains regarded as holy by the Inca people. No mortar was used in the construction of Machu Picchu, the stones were cut and wedged in a complex manner.
  5. Christ the Redeemer- The statue of Jesus Christ in Rio de Janeiro is one of the most significant symbols in Brazil. The credit for the construction of the Christ the Redeemer goes to Paul Landowski, and Gheorghe Leonida. The Christ the Redeemer is 98 feet tall and has a 26 feet tall pedestal. It is the largest sculpture of the art Deco style in the world.
  6. Petra- Petra is located in Ma’an, in the southern part of Jordan. Petra is also known as ‘Rose City’ because of the color of the stone from which it is carved. Petra holds immense historical and architectural values. The two most notable features of this ancient city are the water conduit system and the rock-cut architecture. The water conduit system was installed by the ancient Nabataeans. This helped the city to rise to become a flourished city in the desert. Petra is one of the seven wonders of the world as well as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  7. The Great Wall of China- The Great Wall of China is one of the seven wonders and one of the global tourist hotspots. It is known for its uniqueness and holds a unique history. The length of the Great Wall of China is 21,196 km. One-third of the Great Wall has disappeared by this time. It is also inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage site. It was built by the Chinese Empires Win Dynasty and Ming Dynasty. The Great Wall of China was built with the contribution of over 20 dynasties and states. It was not just a wall but a kind of fortification with watchtowers, beacon towers, trenches, etc.
Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.