Current Affairs   »   States and Capitals: India Now Has...   »   Union Territories Of India: What are...

Union Territories Of India: What are the Union Territories of India?


Andaman and Nicobar– It is a union territory of India and is located in the Indian Ocean. The first habit inhabitants of Andaman Island were Andamanese. The Andaman and Nicobar was founded in the year 1956 on the first of November. There is a total number of three districts in Andaman and Nicobar Island. The capital of Andaman and Nicobar Island is Port Blair. Andaman and Nicobar’s existence was first reported in the 19th century by Arab merchants who sailed past them on their way toward the straits of Sumatra. The official language of Andaman and Nicobar is Nicobar, however Hindi Bengali Tamil Telugu, and English are also used here. Andaman and Nicobar are one of the most visited resume places it is famous for its exotic sea beach bordered by coconut and palm trees and translucent Bluewater.

Political Map of India

Chandigarh capital of two states Punjab and Haryana. It is located near the Shivalik range of the Himalayas in Northwest India. It shares its borders with Punjab and Haryana. Chandigarh is one of the earliest planned cities post-independent and internationally it is known for its architecture and urban design. Chandigarh has one of the highest per capita incomes. Chandigarh is the only union territory that has the highest human development index. The people of Chandigarh speak English Hindi and Punjabi. Chandigarh is a union territory and their four state-level elections are not entitled here.

Dadra Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu it is located in the western part of India it is composed of four different geographical divisions. Daman and Diu are situated bordering Gujarat and the Dadar and Nagar haveli shares a border with Gujarat and Maharashtra. Until January 2020 Daman and Diu and Dadar and Nagar haveli what to separate union territories. January 2020 Dadar and Nagar haveli became one of the districts along with Daman and Diu districts. By area, this union territory is the 33rd largest division of India. The economy of Dadar Nagar haveli and Daman and Diu is based on the agriculture sector. About 60% of the economy depends on agriculture as a main source of income. The official languages spoken here are Marathi Hindi Gujarati and English. The capital city of this union territory is Daman. The total number of districts is three and administrative divisions are also 3.

Delhi is the capital of India and as well as a union territory of India. Delhi shares its border with Uttar Pradesh and Haryana. Delhi’s urban collection of satellite Cities includes Ghaziabad Gurgaon Faridabad and Noida, all these areas are altogether known as a national capital region or NCR. Delhi is the largest metropolitan area in India and the second largest in the world with a population of over 28 million. In the human development index, Delhi is the fifth among union territories. The ancient name of Delhi is Indraprastha which means the city of Indra in Sanskrit.

Jammu and Kashmir are located in the Northern part of India. Jammu and Kashmir were divided between India and Pakistan from the Indo-Pakistan war of 1947 to 1948. Jammu and Kashmir have the most Muslim majority population in India. Jammu and Kashmir was the only state in India that has a special economy under article 370 of the constitution of India according to which no law is enacted by the parliament of India except for those in the field of defense, foreign policy, and communication. The economy of Jammu and Kashmir depends on agriculture and tourism activities. The capital of Jammu and Kashmir is Srinagar.

Union Territories of India

Ladakh- Ladakh constitutes a larger Kashmir and it has been a topic of dispute between India Pakistan and China since 1947. Since the closure of crossroads for trade routes, the Government of India has encouraged tourism in Ladakh since 1974. Ladakh was established as a union territory in the year 2019 on 31st October. It is the largest and the second least populated union territory of India. Ladakh is on top of all the tourist places in India. Ladakh is known as heaven on earth because of its mesmerizing mountain ranges monasteries and snow-covered lakes.

Lakshadweep- Lakshadweep is an archipelago of 36 islands located off the Malabar coast. Lakshadweep in Malayalam means 1 lakh Islands. The official language of Lakshadweep is Malayalam. It is the smallest union territory of India with a total surface area of 32 km square. It forms only one Indian district with 10 subdivisions. Kavaratti is the capital of Lakshadweep.

Puducherry- also known as Pondicherry is the union territory of India consisting of 4 small geographically unconnected districts. Pondicherry has an area of 483 km square. The capital of Puducherry that is Puducherry was once the headquarters of the French in India. For 138 years the region of Puducherry was under the control of the French. Officially Puducherry became an integrated part of India in the year 1963.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

Find more National News Here

हिंदी में पढ़ें


FAQs on Union territory of India

Q1.Which are the 8 union territories of India?
Ans. There are a total of eight union territories in India

• Andaman and Nicobar
• Delhi
• Ladakh
• Chandigarh
• Daman and Diu and Dadar and Nagar Haveli
• Delhi
• Jammu and Kashmir
• Lakshadweep

Q2. Are there 8 or 9 union territories?
A. In India there are 8 union territories and 28 states.

Q3. Which is the largest union territory?
A. Jammu and Kashmir is the largest union territory in India by area, it is 125,535 km square.


Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *