Home   »   States and Capitals of India, List...   »   Haryana: A Brief History and Interesting...

Haryana: A Brief History and Interesting Facts

Haryana: About

Haryana is a North Indian state which surrounds New Delhi from three sides. On 1 November 1966, Haryana was separated from Punjab and made into a new state. It ranks 21st in terms of area out of all Indian states. It shares its borders with Punjab, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, and Uttarakhand. The state has six administrative divisions, 22 districts, and 72 sub-divisions. There are 32 special economic zones which are mainly located within the industrial corridor projects connecting the National Capital Region. Haryana ranks 11th among Indian states on Human Development Index. The economy of Haryana ranks 13th in India. However, Haryana has the highest unemployment rate among Indian states. The state is famous for tourism, heritage, culture, history, and monuments.

Countries Capital and Currencies

Haryana: History

  • The history of Haryana also traces the Indus valley civilization. In the villages of Rakhigarhi in Hisar district and Bhirrana in Fatehabad district, the largest and one of the oldest sites of Indus valley civilization.
  • According to the archaeologists, Rakhigarhi perhaps is the origin of the Harappan civilization which arose in the Ghaggar basin in Haryana and gradually and slowly moved to be Indus valley.
  • In Haryana ancient bronze and stone idols of Jain Tirthankara in Badli, Bhiwani, Dadri, Gurgaon, Hansi, Hisar, Kasan, Nahad, Narnaul, Pehowa, Rewari, Rohad, Rohtak, and Sonepat.
  • In the 7th century Pushyabhuti dynasty ruled parts of Northern India with Thanesar as the capital.
  • The southern part of Haryana was ruled by Tomara in the 10th Century and Anangpal Tomar was one of the prominent kings among the Tomaras.
  • The state was part of the British Punjab province. The Delhi division of Punjab province formed the bulk of Haryana.
  • Punjab province was one of two British Indian Provinces during the Partition of India.
  • Haryana, along with other Hindu and Sikh-dominated areas of Punjab province became part of India as East Punjab state.
  • Haryana became a state on 1st November 1966, the Punjab Reorganization Act 1966.

Haryana: Things you need to know

  • The capital of Haryana is Chandigarh.
  • The Chief Minister of Haryana is Manohar Lal and the governor is Bandaru Dattatraya.
  • The official language of Haryana is Hindi.
  • Haryana covers an area of 44,210 Km2.
  • The largest city of Haryana is Faridabad.
  • Saint Ved Vyas wrote Mahabharata on the land of Haryana.
  • The state bird of Haryana is Black Francolin and the state flower is Lotus.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

Find More Miscellaneous News Here

 States and CapitalsComplete List of 28 States and Capitals of India and 8 UTs 2022_110.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *