Home   »   Agreements   »   India & International Telecommunication Union Sign...

India & International Telecommunication Union Sign Host Country Agreement

India & International Telecommunication Union Sign Host Country Agreement_4.1

The Government of India has signed the Host Country Agreement (HCA) with International Telecommunication Union (ITU) for the establishment of an Area Office & Innovation Centre of ITU in New Delhi. The Host Country Agreement provides the legal and financial framework for the establishment and operations of the Area Office. The Area Office and Innovation Centre of ITU at New Delhi will serve South Asian countries comprising of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Iran, Maldives, Nepal, Sri Lanka and India.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

The agreement was signed between Shri Ashwini Vaishnaw, Union Minister of Communications and H.E. Houlin Zhao, Secretary-General of ITU, in a virtual ceremony during the World Telecommunications Standardisation Assembly-20 (WTSA-20) being held in Geneva, Switzerland.

About the ITU:

ITU is the United Nations specialised agency for information and communication technologies (ICTs). ITU currently has a membership of 193 countries. It allocates global radio spectrum and satellite orbits, develops the technical standards that ensure networks and technologies seamlessly interconnect, and strives to improve access to ICTs to underserved communities worldwide.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • International Telecommunication Union Headquarters: Geneva, Switzerland;
  • International Telecommunication Union Founded: 17 May 1865;
  • International Telecommunication Union Secretary-General: Houlin Zhao.

Find More News Related to Agreements

India & International Telecommunication Union Sign Host Country Agreement_5.1

DST tieup with Intel India to boost AI readiness_90.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *