Home   »   State News   »   Rajasthan Govt. announces 19 New Districts,...

Rajasthan Govt. announces 19 New Districts, 3 New Divisions in State

What’s in News?

Rajasthan Government recently approved a proposal to form 19 new districts and three new divisions with the purpose of improving governance and decentralizing administrative functions. As of now, Rajasthan has 50 districts and 10 divisions, earlier it had 33 districts and 7 divisions.


A high-level committee chaired by retired IAS officer Ram Lubhaya formed in March 2022 to give recommendations about the formation of new districts in Rajasthan. The committee submitted its report and based on the interim report of the committee, Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, on 17 March, made an announcement of the formation of 19 new districts in the state.

After the announcement of the formation of the new states, representations were received from people, public representatives and various organizations regarding the demarcation of the new district boundaries. The representations were forwarded to the committee for re-examining the boundaries of the proposed districts. After examining the representations, the committee submitted its report to the state government on 2nd August, which was approved in the Cabinet meeting on Friday.

Reorganization of Existing States

As part of the reorganization part, the existing Jaipur will be divided into Jaipur and Jaipur Rural and the existing Jodhpur into Jodhpur and Jodhpur Rural. The move aims to streamline governance and enhance service delivery at the local level.

New Districts and Divisions

The list of new districts includes Apoongarh, Balotra, Beawar, Deeg, Didwana-Kuchaman, Dudu, Gangapur City, Kotputli-Behror, Khairthal-Tijara, Neem Ka Thana, Phalodi, Slumber, Sanchore and Shahpura. The state will now have 10 divisions with the addition of Banswara, Pali and Sikar.


The formation of new districts is expected to decentralize power and governance, making it more accessible to the people at the grassroots level. Smaller administrative units can lead to better service delivery, improved law and order and enhanced governance. The move is also expected to provide relief to citizens who previously had to travel long distances to access government offices and services.

Find More State In News Here

Rajasthan Govt. announces 19 New Districts, 3 New Divisions in State_4.1


Bihar to Constitute 'Rhino Task Force' to reintroduce Rhino Conservation Scheme_100.1

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.