Home   »   BJP and SKM Triumph in Arunachal...

BJP and SKM Triumph in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim Assembly Elections

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Sikkim Kantikari Morcha (SKM) emerged as the clear winners in the recently concluded legislative assembly elections in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim, respectively. According to the Election Commission of India, the BJP clinched an impressive 46 out of 60 seats in Arunachal Pradesh, while the SKM swept the Sikkim polls, securing a remarkable 31 out of 32 seats.

BJP Retains Power in Arunachal Pradesh for Third Consecutive Term

The BJP’s victory in Arunachal Pradesh marked a significant milestone as the party returned to power for the third consecutive term. Their vote share witnessed a substantial increase, rising from 50.9% in 2019 to 54.8% in 2024. In the previous assembly election in 2019, the BJP had secured 41 seats.

Political Party  Seats won
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 46
National People’s Party (NPP) 5
Nationalist Congress Party (Ajit Pawar faction)-NCP 3
People’s Party of Arunachal Pradesh (PPA) 2
Congress (I) Party 1
Independent  3
Total 60

SKM’s Resounding Comeback in Sikkim

In Sikkim, the Sikkim Kantikari Morcha (SKM), led by Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang, staged a remarkable comeback, securing a landslide victory with 31 out of the 32 assembly seats. This represented a significant increase from the 17 seats the party held in the previous assembly.

Political Party Assembly seats won
Sikkim Karntikari Morcha (SKM) 31
Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) 1
Congress(I) 0
Total  60

Defeat of Five-time Former CM Pawan Chamling

The election also witnessed a significant setback for five-time Sikkim Chief Minister and eight-time MLA Pawan Kumar Chamling of the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF). Chamling, who served as the Chief Minister of Sikkim for over 24 years from 1994 to 2019, lost from both the Poklok Kamrang and Namcheybung assembly constituencies.

Naveen Patnaik: India’s Second Longest-Serving Chief Minister

Notably, Pawan Chamling holds the distinction of being India’s longest-serving Chief Minister, surpassed only by Naveen Patnaik of the Biju Janata Dal, who is the incumbent Chief Minister of Odisha and India’s second longest-serving Chief Minister.

BJP and SKM Triumph in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim Assembly Elections_4.1