Home   »   Andhra Pradesh

Chandrababu Naidu Sworn In as Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister for 4th Term

Three years after vowing to enter the Assembly only as Chief Minister, N. Chandrababu Naidu has been sworn in for his fourth term as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh. The oath-taking ceremony, held near Gannavaram Airport in Kesarapalli on the outskirts of Vijayawada, saw the attendance of key figures including PM Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah.

Emotional Vow After Derogatory Remarks

In a significant moment in 2021, Naidu had publicly shed tears for the first time after derogatory remarks were made against his wife by YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) leaders, prompting him to take a solemn vow to return to the Assembly only as Chief Minister.

Naidu’s Political Journey and Return to Power

Chandrababu Naidu took oath as the CM of Andhra Pradesh. After taking oath, AP CM hugged PM Modi at the stage. Followed by Chandrababu Naidu, JanaSena leader Pawan Kalyan and Naidu’s son Nara Lokesh also took oath as council of Ministers in the state.

Naidu first became the Chief Minister of the then undivided Andhra Pradesh in 1995, serving two consecutive terms. In 2014, he became the first Chief Minister of the newly bifurcated Andhra Pradesh, holding office until 2019. His return to power follows a landslide victory in the 2024 elections.

NDA Alliance’s Resounding Victory

The NDA alliance in Andhra Pradesh, comprising the TDP, BJP, and Janasena, achieved a substantial majority in the Assembly, securing 164 seats. In the simultaneous Lok Sabha elections, the alliance captured 21 of the 25 parliamentary constituencies in the state.

A Momentous Occasion and Fresh Mandate

The swearing-in ceremony marked a momentous occasion for Naidu, who had vowed to return as Chief Minister after facing political setbacks. With a fresh mandate from the people of Andhra Pradesh, Naidu now has the opportunity to lead the state towards further development and progress, backed by the support of his alliance partners and the blessings of the Prime Minister and other influential leaders.

Static GK:

  • Andhra Pradesh Governor: S. Abdul Nazeer;
  • Andhra Pradesh Bird: Rose-ringed parakeet;
  • Andhra Pradesh Districts: 26;
  • Andhra Pradesh Formation: 1 November 1956.

Chandrababu Naidu Sworn In as Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister for 4th Term_4.1