Home   »   Cyril Ramaphosa Secures Second Term as...

Cyril Ramaphosa Secures Second Term as South African President

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa was reelected by lawmakers for a second term on June 14, after his party struck a dramatic late coalition deal with a former political foe just hours before the vote. Ramaphosa won the vote against Julius Malema, leader of the far-left Economic Freedom Fighters, winning 283 votes to Malema’s 44.

Election of President in South Africa

The election took place on May 29, with 339 ballot papers issued and counted, and 12 ballots declared invalid. Ramaphosa secured 283 votes, while Economic Freedom Fighters leader Julius Malema received 44 votes. Ramaphosa was nominated for the presidency by ANC Member of Parliament Mdumiseni Ntuli and seconded by Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP) leader and MP Velenkosini Hlabisa. The process was overseen by Chief Justice Raymond Zondo. This marks Ramaphosa’s second term as South Africa’s president. He first took office on February 15, 2018, and was re-elected on May 22, 2019, following the 2019 elections.

The new government in South Africa

The new government of national unity combines Mr Ramaphosa’s ANC, the centre-right Democratic Alliance and other smaller parties. The 71-year-old Ramaphosa won convincingly in a Parliament vote against a surprise candidate, Julius Malema, the leader of the far-left Economic Freedom Fighters. Mr. Ramaphosa got 283 votes against Malema’s 44 in the 400-member house. Cyril Ramaphosa secured his second term, after striking a crucial agreement just hours before the vote for the president with once its fiercest political rival, the Democratic Alliance party, as ANC lost its 30-year majority in Africa’s national assembly. In elections last month, the vote share of African National Congress dropped to 40%, while the Democratic Alliance emerged as the second largest party with 22% of the votes. The parties will now co-govern South Africa in its first national coalition where no party has a majority.

Brief about Cyril Ramaphosa

Matamela Cyril Ramaphosa (born 17 November 1952) is a South African businessman and politician serving as the 5th and current president of South Africa since 2018. A former anti-apartheid activist and trade union leader, Ramaphosa is also the president (leader) of the African National Congress (ANC).

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • South Africa Capitals: Cape Town, Pretoria, Bloemfontein
  • South Africa Currency: Rand
  • South Africa Population: 5.99 crores (2022) World Bank
  • South Africa Official languages: Afrikaans, English, Xhosa, Zulu, Southern Sotho, 12 more
  • South Africa Government: Constitutional republic, Parliamentary republic


Cyril Ramaphosa Secures Second Term as South African President_4.1