Home   »   Disha Police Station inaugurated in Andhra...

Disha Police Station inaugurated in Andhra Pradesh’s Rajamahendravaram

Disha Police Station inaugurated in Andhra Pradesh's Rajamahendravaram_4.1

YS Jaganmohan Reddy, Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh launched the first Disha Police Station in Rajamahendravaram city. Disha Police Stations are model stations aimed at rendering speedy justice for female victims of Sexual assault (rape), Sexual harassment and Protection of Children from Sexual Offences (POCSO) Act, 2012.

The new Disha police station will have a mobile kit, counselor to collect medical and scientific evidence, and caretakers to help the victims who come to the station. These police stations will be set up in the remaining 17 police districts and Commissionerates across Andhra Pradesh.

Andhra Pradesh state government enacted the Disha Act, in the aftermath of the gruesome rape and murder of a veterinarian in Hyderabad in November 2019. Disha act to ensure speedy investigation and trial of sexual assault cases. The Act prescribes the death penalty where rape or gangrape is established. Under the new law, the Andhra Pradesh government is opening 13 special courts in each district for expeditious trial of such cases.

Important Takeaways for upcoming competitive Exams:

  • Biswabhushan Harichandan is the current Governor of Andhra Pradesh.
  • Capital City of Andhra Pradesh: Amaravati.
  • Jaganmohan Reddy is the leader of YSR Congress Party.

Check States News Here

Disha Police Station inaugurated in Andhra Pradesh's Rajamahendravaram_5.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *