Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   Irani Cup 2022-23

Irani Cup 2022-23 final: Rest of India crowned champions

Irani Cup 2022/23

In the final of the Irani Cup 2022/23, Team Rest of India secured their 30th title win in the Indian domestic tournament, continuing their dominant performance. They defeated Madhya Pradesh by 238 runs. Yashasvi Jaiswal, who showcased brilliant batting skills across both innings, was adjudged the Player of the Match. He smashed a double century and a century in the two innings, contributing significantly to ROI’s victory.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

The Irani Cup, named after the late Z. R. Irani, was introduced in 1959-60 and is a traditional five-day match played between the Ranji Trophy winners and a Rest of India team. It is considered one of the most prestigious domestic cricket tournaments in India.

Summary of the Final Match:

  • The Rest of India (ROI) team, who were the defending champions of the Irani Cup, played against Madhya Pradesh in the final match of the tournament on March 1. They won the toss and chose to bat first, scoring an impressive 484 runs at the Captain Roop Singh Stadium in Gwalior.
  • In response, Madhya Pradesh could only manage 294 runs in their first innings. With a significant lead in the second innings, ROI continued to score more runs, setting a challenging target of 437 runs. In the end, Madhya Pradesh was bowled out for just 198 runs, and ROI won the match by a margin of 238 runs, securing their 30th title win in the Indian domestic tournament. Yashasvi Jaiswal was declared the Player of the match for his outstanding performance with the bat, scoring a double century and a century in both innings.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *