Home   »   General Studies   »   Largest Division of Uttar Pradesh

Which is the Largest Division of Uttar Pradesh State?

Uttar Pradesh, often referred to as the heartland of India, is a state renowned for its rich cultural heritage, historical significance, and diverse landscapes. Within this vast and populous state lies numerous administrative divisions, each playing a crucial role in the governance and development of the region. Among these divisions, one stands out as the largest, encompassing a myriad of districts and communities. In this article, we delve into Uttar Pradesh’s largest division, uncovering its geographical expanse, cultural tapestry, and economic significance.

An Overview of Uttar Pradesh State

Uttar Pradesh, the fourth largest state in India, covers a substantial area of 240,928 square kilometers, constituting 7.33% of the country’s total area. Renowned for its rich cultural heritage and historical significance, Uttar Pradesh stands as the most populous state in India. Its administrative structure is organized into districts, further divided into divisions known as “mandals.”

How many Districts are there in Uttar Pradesh State?

Uttar Pradesh comprises a total of 75 districts, each organized into different divisions or mandals. These districts play a crucial role in the state’s administrative structure, contributing to its governance and socio-economic development across various regions.

How many Divisions or ‘Mandals’ are there in Uttar Pradesh?

In Uttar Pradesh, there are a total of 18 divisions or ‘mandals’. These divisions serve as administrative units, each comprising various districts. The presence of these divisions aids in the efficient functioning of the state’s governance system, facilitating better management and coordination across different regions.

Largest Division of Uttar Pradesh State

Among the divisions in Uttar Pradesh, the Lucknow Mandal emerges as the largest division. This mandal holds paramount importance due to its vast area compared to other divisions in the state. Situated in the heart of Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow Mandal encompasses a diverse range of districts, each contributing uniquely to the state’s cultural and economic landscape.

Districts within the Largest Division of Uttar Pradesh – Lucknow Division

The Lucknow Mandal comprises six districts, each with its distinctive characteristics and contributions to the overall development of the state. These districts include:

  1. Lucknow: The capital city of Uttar Pradesh, renowned for its historical monuments, cultural heritage, and administrative significance.
  2. Hardoi: Known for its agricultural prominence and historical significance, contributing significantly to the state’s agrarian economy.
  3. Unnao: Famed for its archaeological treasures and industrial development, playing a vital role in Uttar Pradesh’s economic growth.
  4. Raebareli: Recognized for its political significance and industrial establishments, fostering economic growth and development in the region.
  5. Sitapur: A hub of cultural heritage and natural beauty, known for its historical landmarks and agricultural productivity.
  6. Lakhimpur Kheri: The largest district within the Lucknow Mandal, acclaimed for its agricultural prowess, industrial growth, and architectural marvels like the Mendhak Mandir (Frog Temple).

List of Former Chief Ministers of Himachal Pradesh (1952-2024)_100.1

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.