Home   »   State News   »   Maharashtra became the first state in...

Maharashtra became the first state in the country to pass the Lokayukta Bill

Maharashtra became the first state in the country to pass the Lokayukta Bill_4.1

Lokayukta Bill 2022:

Maharashtra assembly has passed the Lokayukta Bill 2022, which brings the chief minister and council of ministers under the ambit of the anti-corruption ombudsman. The bill was passed without discussion as the opposition had staged a walkout over the alleged scam in the Teachers Entrance Test. Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis termed the bill a historic legislation. Cabinet Minister Deepak Kesarkar introduced the Bill which has a provision to bring the Chief Minister and the cabinet under the purview of the anti-corruption ombudsman.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

About the bill:

  • According to the Bill, the Lokayukta will have to seek the approval of the assembly before initiating any inquiry against the chief minister and bringing a motion before the session of the house.
  • According to the provisions of the Bill, such a proposal would require the approval of at least two-thirds of the total members of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.
  • The Bill also states that the Lokayukta will not investigate cases involving allegations of corruption against the Chief Minister, which are related to internal security or public order.
  • It is also provided that any such inquiry shall be kept secret and if the Lokayukta comes to the conclusion that the complaint deserves to be dismissed, the records of the inquiry shall not be published or made available to anyone.
  • As per the provision, the Lokayukta shall have a Chairperson, who shall be a present or former Chief Justice of a High Court. Apart from this, there will be a judge of the Supreme Court or the Bombay High Court. The Lokayukta shall have a maximum of four members, of whom two shall be from the judiciary.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • Maharashtra Governor: Bhagat Singh Koshyari;
  • Maharashtra Capital: Mumbai;
  • Maharashtra Chief minister: Eknath Shinde.

You may also read this:

Maharashtra became the first state in the country to pass the Lokayukta Bill_5.1



Election commission set up a polling booth for a single voter in Gujarat_90.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *