Home   »   Nand Kishore Yadav Elected as Bihar...

Nand Kishore Yadav Elected as Bihar Legislative Assembly Speaker

Veteran Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Nand Kishore Yadav has been elected as the Speaker of the Bihar Legislative Assembly. This election marks a pivotal moment in Bihar’s political landscape, with Yadav bringing a wealth of experience to the prestigious position.

Unanimous Support and Political Journey

Elevation to the Speaker’s Chair

The ceremony of Yadav’s elevation was marked by a rare moment of unity in the Bihar Legislative Assembly, as Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Leader of the Opposition Tejashwi Yadav escorted him to the Speaker’s chair. This act symbolizes a temporary suspension of partisan divides in recognition of Yadav’s long-standing contribution to Bihar’s political sphere.

A Storied Political Career

Nand Kishore Yadav, a seven-time Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) from the Patna Sahib constituency, has been a prominent figure in Bihar politics. His political journey commenced in 1978 with his election as a councillor of the Patna Municipal Corporation, eventually becoming the deputy mayor of Patna in 1982. First elected as an MLA in 1995, Yadav’s career has been distinguished by his several tenures as a minister in the Nitish Kumar government, showcasing his versatility and leadership within the state’s governance.

Strategic Significance of Yadav’s Election

Beyond a Routine Election

The election of Yadav on February 13, following the no-confidence motion that led to the ousting of his predecessor, Awadh Bihari Choudhary of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), is laden with strategic significance. With Deputy Speaker Maheshwar Hazari of JD(U) temporarily conducting House proceedings, Yadav’s election is seen as a stabilizing move in the wake of recent political turbulence.

Balancing Act in Bihar’s Politics

The BJP’s nomination of Yadav for the Speaker’s post is interpreted as a deliberate strategy to maintain a socio-political equilibrium within the state. Yadav’s selection embodies an effort to strike a balance among the Extremely Backward Class (EBC), Other Backward Class (OBC), and the upper castes in the new ruling dispensation. This strategic choice reflects the BJP’s broader agenda to foster inclusivity and representation in its governance approach.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • Bihar Capital: Patna;
  • Bihar Flower: Marigold;
  • Bihar Formation: 22 March 1912;
  • Bihar Fruit: Mango;
  • Bihar CM: Nitish Kumar;
  • Bihar Governor: Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar.

Nand Kishore Yadav Elected as Bihar Legislative Assembly Speaker_4.1

Union Minister Rupala Launches Updated AHIDF Scheme_80.1