Home   »   General Studies   »   Southernmost District of Uttar Pradesh

Which is the Southernmost District of Uttar Pradesh?

Uttar Pradesh, one of India’s largest states, is located in the northern part of the country with its capital in Lucknow. Sonbhadra, situated in the southeastern part of Uttar Pradesh, is the southernmost district of the state. Known for its rich history, cultural diversity, and natural beauty, Sonbhadra holds a unique position in Uttar Pradesh.

An Overview of Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh, often abbreviated as UP, is India’s most populous state, situated in the northern part of the country. It boasts a rich cultural heritage, being the birthplace of various religions and historical figures. Lucknow serves as its capital city. Known for its diverse landscape ranging from the plains of the Gangetic plain to the foothills of the Himalayas, UP is also an economic powerhouse with significant agricultural and industrial sectors.

Administrative Structure of Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh consists of 75 districts organized into 18 divisions. Administrative units known as tehsils total 351, and there are 17 municipal corporations. Lakhimpur Kheri is the largest district, sprawling over 7,680 square kilometers, while Hapur is the smallest, covering only 660 square kilometers.

Geographical Extremes of Uttar Pradesh

  • Northernmost District: Saharanpur
  • Southernmost District: Sonbhadra
  • Easternmost District: Ballia
  • Westernmost District: Shamli

Southernmost District of Uttar Pradesh

Sonbhadra, located in the southeastern part of Uttar Pradesh, holds the distinction of being the state’s southernmost district. It is known for its rugged terrain, dense forests, and the scenic Son River, a major tributary of the Ganges. Sonbhadra has a rich historical heritage dating back to ancient times, with numerous ancient temples and monuments dotting its landscape, making it a unique destination in Uttar Pradesh.

An Overview of Sonbhadra, the Southernmost District of Uttar Pradesh

Sonbhadra, also called Sonebhadra or Sonanchal, ranks as Uttar Pradesh’s second largest district after Lakhimpur Kheri. Its administrative center is Robertsganj. Known as the “Energy Capital of India,” Sonbhadra houses numerous power plants. Situated between the Vindhya and Kaimur hills, its picturesque landscape led India’s first Prime Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru, to liken it to the “Switzerland of India.”

Which is the Southernmost District of Uttar Pradesh?_4.1

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.