Current Affairs   »   States and Capitals: India Now Has...   »   Complete State-wise List of Chief Minister...

Complete State-wise List of Chief Minister and Governor 2022

List of Chief Minister and Governor 2022

The list of state-wise chief ministers and the governor is important for the students who are preparing for competitive exams like SBI PO, SSC, banking, etc. In The table below we have included all the states and their governor and chief ministers. We have also included the chief minister and governors of union territories. Further in the article, you can also check out the selection process and powers of the chief minister and governor of India.

State Chief Minister and Governor 2022: Important Facts

1. The chief minister of Odisha, Naveen Patnaik has the longest incumbency from 5th March 2000.
2. The chief minister of Mizoram, Zoramthanga is the oldest chief minister in India.
3. The Chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh, Pema Khandu is the youngest chief minister in India.
4. Twelve incumbents belong to Bhartiya Janta Party, two belong to Indian National Congress and two to Aam Aadmi Party.

States and Capitals of India 2022

States Chief Minister Governer
Andhra Pradesh Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy Biswabhushan Harichandan
Arunachal Pradesh Pema Khandu Brigadier B.D Mishra (retd)
Assam Himanta Biswa Sarma Jagdish Mukhi
Bihar Nitish Kumar Phagu Chauhan
Chhattisgarh Bhupesh Bhagel Anusuiya Uikey
Goa Pramod Sawant PS Sreedharan Pillai
Gujarat Bhupendrabhai Patel Acharaya Devvrat
Haryana Manohar Lal Khattar Bandaru Dattatreya
Himachal Pradesh Jai Ram Thakur Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar
Jharkhand Hemant Soren Ramesh Bais
Karnataka Sri Basavaraj Bommai Thawar Chand Gehlot
Kerala Pinarayi Vijayan Arif Mohammed Khan
Madhya Pradesh Shivraj Singh Chouhan Mangubhai Chaganbhai Patel
Maharastra Eknath Shinde Bhagat Singh Koshyari
Manipur N. Biren Singh Shri La. Ganesan
Meghalaya Conrad Kongkal Sangma Satya Pal Malik
Mizoram Zoramthanga Dr. Kambhampati Haribabu
Nagaland Neiphiu Rio Jagdish Mukhi
Odisha Naveen Patnaik Prof. Ganeshi Lal Mathur
Punjab Bhagwant Singh Mann Shri Banwarilal Purohit
Rajasthan Ashok Gehlot Kalraj Mishra
Sikkim PS Golay Ganga Prasad
Tamil Nadu M.K Stalin R.N. Ravi
Telangana K.Chandrashekhar Rao Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan
Tripura Dr. Manik Saha Satyadev Narayan Arya
Uttar Pradesh Yogi Adityanath Anandiben Patel
Uttarakhand Shri Pushkar Singh Dhami Gurmit Singh
West Bengal Mamata Banerjee Dr CV Ananda Bose

Union Territory-wise Governor List

Union Territory Governor Capital
Andaman & Nicobar  Shri. Devendra Kumar Joshi (Lieutenant Governor)  Port Blair
Chandigarh Banwarilal Purohit  Chandigarh
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu  Shri Praful Patel (Administrator)  Daman
Delhi Vinai Kumar Saxena  New Delhi
 Jammu and Kashmir  Shri Manoj Sinha (Lieutenant Governor)  Srinagar
Lakshadweep  Shri Praful Patel (Administrator)  Kavaratti
Puducherry  Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan  Puducherry
Ladakh  Shri Radha Krishna Mathur (Lieutenant Governor)  Leh

Selection and Powers of Governor in India

The governor in India is appointed by the president. The central government is responsible for the nomination of the government for each state. There is no indirect or direct election for the appointment of governor unlike the elections for president. The office of a governor is an independent constitutional office the governor doesn’t serve the union government.

The governor only needs to meet two qualifications one he should be an Indian citizen and the other he should be 35 years old or more. There are two conventions that the government follows to nominate a governor that is the person who is going to be appointed as the governor must not belong to the state, he shall be an outsider with having no relations with the state. The other one is the consultation of the chief minister is taken before the appointment of a governor by the president. He is the executive head of the state he is appointed to. All the executive actions that are performed in the state are in the name of the governor.

Selection and Powers of Chief Minister in India

There is no specific procedure for the selection and appointment of the chief minister of a state as per the constitution of India. According to article 164, the Government of a state appoints the chief minister. There are a few qualifications that a person needs to become a chief minister of India. The person must be a citizen of India, he must have completed 25 years of age, and must be a member of any house either the legislative assembly or the legislative council. A citizen of India who is not a member of the legislative assembly or legislative council has to get himself elected within 6 months from the date of their appointment, if the person fails the procedure, he would not be considered the chief minister.

The powers given to the chief minister are that he can allocate and reshuffle the portfolios among ministers, if the chief minister resigns the full cabinet has to resign with him, guides controls and direct activities of all the ministers, if there is any difference of opinion he can ask the minister to resign, he advises the government to appoint any person as a minister.

FAQs related to chief ministers and Governors of India

Q1. What are the powers of the governor of a state?
Ans. Every executive action that is taken by the state government is under the name of the governor. The governor appoints the advocate general of the state and their remuneration. He also appoints the state election commissioner, vice-chancellors of the universities in the state, chairman, and members of the state public service commission.

Q2. Who appoints the governor of a state in India?
Ans. In India, the governor of a state is appointed by the president of India for a term of 5 years. The governor is the head of all the state governments and all the executive actions are taken in the name of the governor.

Q3. Which union Territories have chief ministers?
Ans. Only two union territories that are Delhi and Puducherry have chief ministers. The chief minister of Delhi is Arvind Kejriwal and the chief minister of Puducherry is N. Rangaswamy.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

Find More Miscellaneous News HereState Chief Minister And Governor 2022: Complete State-wise List of C M & Governor_60.1

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Join the Conversation

  1. State Chief Minister And Governor 2022: Complete State-wise List of C M & Governor_40.1

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply to Satyam Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *