Home   »   General Studies   »   First President of India

First President of India, Know His Name


India, known for its world’s largest democracy, boasts a history adorned with visionary leaders who played crucial roles in steering the national toward its coveted objectives of freedom and prosperity. leading this historical odyssey was Dr. Rajendra Prasad, first President of India. His remarkable life, significant contributions and steadfast commitment to the nation remain a lasting source of inspiration for future generations.

Who is President of India?

The President of India is the head of the state and the ceremonial head of the country of the Indian Government, acts on the advice of the Prime Minister. The president is the head of the state but does not exercise executive powers. All the executive decisions are taken in the name of President of India. All the MoU signed with any foreign country are on the name of the President of India.

First President of India: Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Personal Details:

  • Birth date: 3rd December 1884
  • Birth place: Ziradei, Bengal Presidency, British India
  • Death: 28th February 1963 at Patna, Bihar, India

Early Life

Dr. Rajendra Prasad was born on 3 December 1884, in Ziradei, Bengal Presidency, British India. He pursued his education with great determination, eventually earning degrees in law and economics. He joined the Indian National Congress, where he played a pivotal role in India’s struggle for Independence, becoming a prominent advocate of non-violent resistance and civil disobedience.

Other Important Articles
First Males in India First Prime Minister of India
First Male Doctor in India First Man in Space

Dr. Rajendra Prasad as 1st President of India

Dr. Rajendra Prasad, India’s first President, assumed office of President of India on 26th January 1950. He was a great leader who played a significant role in India’s fight for freedom from British rule. He served the nation as President of India for consecutive 12 years from 1950- 1962. As President, he worked to bring people together and build a strong and united country. He showed honestly, humility and dedication in serving the nation, leaving a lasting example of leadership and integrity. His time as President set a strong foundation for India’s democracy and progress.

Awards presented to 1st President of India: Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Dr. Rajendra Prasad received several awards and honors for his contributions to the nation and society. These are as follows:

  • Bharat Ratna in 1962
  • Padma Vibhushan in 1957
  • Doctorate of Law
  • Nishan-e-Pakistan

Institutions named after 1st President of India: Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Some of the main institutions named after Dr. Rajendra Prasad are as follows:

  • Rajendra Prasad Central Agriculture University
  • Rajendra Institute of Medical Sciences
  • Rajendra Prasad Institute of Communication and Management
  • Rajendra Prasad College

List of Former President of India (1950-2023)

The current President of India is Droupadi Murmu, serving the office from 21st July 2022. The list of former President of India from 1950-2023:

S. No. Name Tenure
1. Dr. Rajendra Prasad 26 January 1950- 13 May 1962
2. Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13 May 1962- 13 May 1967
3. Dr. Zakir Hussain 13 May 1967- 3 May 1969
4. Varahagiri Venkata Giri 3 May 1969- 20 July 1969
5. Mohammad Hidayatullah 20 July 1969- 24 August 1969
6. Varahagiri Venkata Giri 24 August 1969- 24 August 1974
7. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 24 August 1974- 11 February 1977
8. Basappa Danappa Jatti 11 February 1977- 25 July  1977
9. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 25 July 1977- 25 July 1982
10. Giani Zail Singh 25 July 1982- 25 July 1987
11. Ramaswamy Venkataraman 25 July 1987- 25 July 1992
12. Shankar Dayal Sharma 25 July 1992- 25 July 1997
13. Kocheril Raman Narayan 25 July 1997- 25 July 2002
14. Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam 25 July 2002- 25 July 2007
15. Pratibha Patil 25 July 2007- 25 July 2012
16. Pranab Mukherjee 25 July 2012- 25 July 2017
17. Shri Ram Nath Kovind 25 July 2017- 21 July 2022
18. Droupadi Murmu 21 July 2022- present

Find More General Studies News Here


First Prime Minister of India_90.1


Who is the first President of India?

Dr. Rajendra Prasad was the first President of India. He served as President of India from 26 January 1950 to 13 May 1962.

What awards and honors did Dr. Rajendra Prasad receive?

Dr. Rajendra Prasad was honored with Bharat Ratna, India's highest civilian award and the Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian award. He also received honorary Doctorate of Law.

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.