Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   Australia wins ICC Women’s Cricket World...

Australia wins ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022

Women's World Cup 2022 schedule: Australia wins World Cup_4.1

Australia beat England by 71 runs in the finals to claim their seventh Women’s World Cup on April 03, 2022, at Hagley Oval in Christchurch, New Zealand. Australia posted a record of 356 on the board. In reply, Nat Sciver waged a lone battle and remained unbeaten on 148 but it was not enough as England was bowled out for 285 in 43.4 overs.

Alyssa Healy of Australia scored 170 runs in the match, the highest individual score made by any cricketer, male or female, in the World Cup Final. She was also the leading run-scorer in the tournament with 509 runs.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

The Player of the Tournament went to Alyssa Healy. Sophie Ecclestone of England was the leading wicket-taker in the tournament, with 21 dismissals. The 2022 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup was the 12th edition of the Women’s Cricket World Cup. The tournament was held in New Zealand from 4 March to 3 April 2022.

Key points of Women’s World Cup:

  • Most Successful team Australian (7th)
  • Player of the Match (Finals) 2022: Alyssa Healy
  • Player of the tournament 2022: Alyssa Healy
  • Most runs (All time): Debbie Hockley (1,505), New Zealand
  • Leading wicket-taker in the tournament: Sophie Ecclestone (England, 21 dismissals)
  • Most wickets (All time): Jhulan Goswami (45), India

Here we take a look at the year-wise hosts, winners and runners up of the ICC Women’s World Cup from 1973:

Year Winner Runner-up Hosts
1973 England Australia England
1978 Australia England India
1982 Australia England New Zealand
1988 Australia England Australia
1993 England New Zealand  England
1997 Australia New Zealand India
2000 New Zealand Australia New Zealand
2005 Australia India South Africa
2009 England New Zealand Australia
2013 Australia West Indies  India
2017 England India England
2022 Australia England New Zealand

Find More Sports News Here

Women's World Cup 2022 schedule: Australia wins World Cup_5.1Meghalaya would be hosting 83rd National Table Tennis Championship 2022_70.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *