Home   »   List of Vice President of India...   »   List of Vice President of India...

List of Vice President of India (1952-2024)

Vice President of India

The Vice President of India holds the second-highest constitutional position in the Government of India and serves as the ex-officio chairman of the Rajya Sabha. The election of the Vice President involves members of the electoral committee, comprising members from both the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. Notably, the state legislature does not play a role in the Vice President Elections. The office has seen distinguished individuals in the past, with Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan being the first Vice President, serving from May 13, 1952, to May 12, 1957. Mohammad Hamid Ansari holds the record for the longest tenure, serving for ten years from August 11, 2007, to August 11, 2017.

The immediate predecessor to Jagdeep Dhankhar was Venkaiah Naidu, who served from August 11, 2017, to August 11, 2022, during the Presidency of Ram Nath Kovind. The term of the Vice President is five years, with the possibility of continuing in office until the successor assumes charge.

List of Vice Presidents of India

The Vice President of India is a pivotal constitutional office, holding the second-highest position in the country and serving as the ex-officio chairman of the Rajya Sabha. Over the years, India has seen distinguished individuals occupy this esteemed role. Here is a chronological list of Vice Presidents, highlighting their respective terms of office:

Vice President of India Terms of office
From To
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13 May 1952 12 May 1957
13 May 1957 12 May 1962
Zakir Hussain 13 May 1962 12 May 1967
V.V. Giri 13 May 1967 3 May 1969
Gopal Swarup Pathak 31 August 1969 30 August 1974
B.D Jatti 31 August 1974 30 August 1979
Mohanmmad Hidayatullah 31 August 1979 30 August 1984
R. Venkataraman 31 August 1984 24 July 1992
Shankar Dayal Sharma 3 September 1987 24 July 1997
K.R. Narayanan 21 August 1992 24 July 1997
Krishan Kant 21 August 1997 27 July 2002
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 19 August 2002 21 July 2007
Mohammad Hamid Ansari 11 August 2007 11 August 2012
11 August 2012 11 August 2017
Venkaiah Naidu 11 August 2017 10 August 2022
Jagdeep Dhankhar 11 August 2022 Incumbent

Vice President of India: Qualification

  1. The vice President of India must be a citizen of India.
  2. Age limit for being a vice President is not less than 35 years.
  3. An eligible member of the Rajya Sabha
  4. The elected vice President should not be a member of the Rajya Sabha.
  5. He/she should not hold any office of profit.

Vice President of India: Term of Office

The Vice President of India is elected for 5 years, and the present Vice President is also eligible for re-elections. The vice President can be terminated based on the following methods.

  • Resignation to be addressed to the President.
  • Removal of a resolution of the council of states passed by the majority of its members and agreed by the Lok Sabha.
Sea Defenders-2024: U.S - India Joint Exercise Bolsters Indo-Pacific Maritime Cooperation_90.1


Who is the 14th Vice President of India?

Jagdeep Dhankhar is the 14th vice President of India.

Who is the first vice president of India?

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan was the first vice president of India. He took oath on 13th May 1952.

Who is the longest-serving Vice President of India?

Mohammad Hamid Ansari is the longest-serving Vice President of India. He served for 10 years from 11 August 2007 to 10 August 2017.

Post of Vice President has been taken from which constitution?

The post of Vice President has been taken from U.S. Constitution.

Who is the first female Vice President of India?

India never had a female Vice president.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *