Home   »   National Film Awards: Indira Gandhi and...

National Film Awards: Indira Gandhi and Nargis Dutt Names Removed from Categories

The National Film Awards, one of India’s most prestigious film award ceremonies, is set to see significant changes in its 70th iteration in 2022. In a noteworthy update, the names of former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi and celebrated actor Nargis Dutt will no longer be associated with specific award categories as previously done. This decision was disclosed in the Regulations of the 70th National Film Awards 2022, which were notified on Tuesday.

A Shift in Tradition

Best Debut Film of a Director

Previously known as the Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film, this category will now be simply referred to as the “Best Debut Film of a Director.” This change marks a significant departure from the tradition established in 1984, when the award was named in memory of Indira Gandhi, the former Prime Minister of India, following her death. The award aims to recognize and honor outstanding debut films by directors, promoting fresh talent in the film industry. The recipient of this award will be honored with a Swarna Kamal and a cash prize of Rs 3 lakh.

Best Feature Film Promoting National, Social, and Environmental Values

The award category previously known as the Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration has undergone not just a name change but also a broadening of its scope. It will now be known as the “Best Feature Film Promoting National, Social, and Environmental Values,” effectively merging the aspects of national integration, social issues, and environmental conservation into a single category. This transformation reflects a more holistic approach to recognizing films that contribute significantly to promoting values essential for the betterment of society and the environment. Both the producer and director of the winning film in this category will be awarded a Rajat Kamal and a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh each.

Historical Context

The Nargis Dutt Award, introduced in 1965 at the 13th National Film Awards, was named after the iconic Indian actress Nargis Dutt, recognizing films that excel in promoting national integration. The renaming and merging of these awards signify a shift towards a broader perspective of recognizing cinematic contributions that address a range of societal and environmental issues.

Implications of the Changes

The decision to drop the names of Indira Gandhi and Nargis Dutt from the National Film Awards categories and merge certain aspects into broader categories reflects an evolution in the criteria and focus of the awards. By broadening the scope of the awards, the National Film Awards aims to encompass a wider range of themes and issues, encouraging filmmakers to explore topics of national, social, and environmental relevance. This change may also foster a more inclusive environment, allowing a diverse array of films to be recognized and honoured for their contributions to cinema and society.

National Film Awards: Indira Gandhi and Nargis Dutt Names Removed from Categories_4.1

Union Minister Rupala Launches Updated AHIDF Scheme_80.1