Home   »   Pema Khandu Sworn In for Third...

Pema Khandu Sworn In for Third Term as Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister

On June 13, 2024, Pema Khandu of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) took the oath as the Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh for the third consecutive time. The swearing-in ceremony, held at the Dorjee Khandu Convention Hall in Itanagar, was graced by the presence of prominent leaders, including Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP president and Union Minister JP Nadda, Union Minister Kiren Rijiju, and Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Cabinet Ministers Sworn In

The Arunachal Pradesh Governor, Lt Gen (Retd) K T Parnaik, administered the oath of office and secrecy to Khandu and eleven cabinet ministers. Among the cabinet ministers sworn in, Chowna Mein assumed the role of the Deputy Chief Minister of the state.

BJP’s Resounding Victory

In the recently held Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly election on April 9, 2024, conducted alongside the Lok Sabha election, the BJP secured an overwhelming mandate. Pema Khandu’s BJP won 36 out of the 50 assembly seats that went to the polls.

The Arunachal Pradesh legislative assembly has 60 seats, but elections were held only on 50 seats. In the remaining 10 assembly seats, only one candidate stood for election from each seat, and these candidates were declared elected unopposed. Pema Khandu, who filed his nomination from the Mukto assembly constituency, was one of the ten candidates elected unopposed.

Overall, the BJP secured a total of 46 seats in the assembly. Prior to the swearing-in ceremony, the National People’s Party (NPP), which has five seats in the assembly, announced its support for the Pema Khandu government.

Pema Khandu’s Journey

Pema Khandu’s political journey as the Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh began in 2016 when he replaced Nabam Tuki. Initially a member of the Congress party, Khandu and 43 of his MLAs joined the BJP later that year. He won the 2019 assembly election and was sworn in as the Chief Minister for the second time. Now, with his third consecutive term, Khandu has solidified his position as a prominent leader in the state.

About Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh, India’s easternmost region, holds a unique significance. Its easternmost point, Kibithu, is located in the Anjaw district of the state. As part of the Northeastern states, Arunachal Pradesh is the largest state in the region area-wise.

Mentioned in the Kalki Puran, Arunachal Pradesh is believed to be the homeland of Lord Krishna’s wife, Rukmini. The state is also known as the ‘Land of the Rising Sun’ or the ‘Land of the Dawn-lit Mountains’.

Arunachal Pradesh boasts the world’s second-largest Buddhist monastery in Tawang, surpassed only by the Potala Palace in Tibet. After Indian independence, the area was initially named the North East Frontier Province (NEFA) and was later renamed Arunachal Pradesh in 1972. Initially a Union Territory, Arunachal Pradesh became the 24th state of India in 1987.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • Arunachal Pradesh Capital: Itanagar;
  • Arunachal Pradesh Governor: Lt Gen (Retd) K T Parnaik.

Pema Khandu Sworn In for Third Term as Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister_4.1