Home   »   Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav becomes Nepal's...   »   Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav becomes Nepal's...

Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav becomes Nepal’s third Vice President

Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav becomes Nepal's third Vice President_4.1

Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav, a leader of the Janata Samajbadi Party, has won the election to become Nepal‘s third Vice President. He was able to secure victory over Astalaxmi Shakya of CPN (UML) and Mamata Jha of the Janamat Party with support from Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Centre), and the CPN (Unified Socialist) including the ruling alliance. The election was held today with participation from 311 federal lawmakers and 518 Provincial Assembly members. The polling centre for the election was located at the New Baneshwor-based Federal Parliament Building in Kathmandu.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

The Constitution of Nepal states that the Vice President can act as the President in case the President is not available. The term of office for the Vice President is five years, starting from the day of their election. Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav, who has been elected as the third Vice President of Nepal, was a former Minister for Forests and Environment and served as a member of Nepal’s first Federal Parliament. He was elected to the Bara 2 constituency in the 2017 Nepalese general election.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • Nepal Capital: Kathmandu;
  • Nepal Prime minister: Pushpa Kamal Dahal;
  • Nepal Currency: Nepalese Rupee.

You may also read this:

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *