Home   »   Awards and Honours   »   17th Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award 2023

17th Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award 2023 announced

17th Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award 2023 announced_4.1

17th Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award 2023:

17th Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award: 27 Indians living overseas have been chosen by the Indian government for the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards (PBSA), for outstanding achievements both in India and abroad. The award is the highest honour conferred upon Indians living abroad, including Non-Resident Indians (NRIs), Persons of Indian Origin (PIOs) or organisations/institutions established and run by them.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

The jury that selected the recipients comprised Vice-President Jagdeep Dhankhar as its chairman and External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar as its Vice-Chair, among other distinguished dignitaries from different fields. The awards will be conferred upon the recipients by President Droupadi Murmu during the 17th edition of the PBSA, which is scheduled to be held from 8-10 January in Indore, Madhya Pradesh.

Adda247 Yearbook 2022 Download PDF

Theme of 17th Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award

As per the Ministry of External Affairs, the theme for Pravasi Bharatiya Divas 2023 will be “Diaspora: Reliable Partners for India’s Progress in Amrit Kaal”. This theme highlights the importance of the Indian diaspora in contributing to India’s progress.

List of Overseas Indians Chosen for the Honour

S.no Person Country  Field
1 Jagadish Chennupati Australia Science & Technology/ Education
2 Sanjeev Mehta Bhutan Education
3 Dilip Loundo  Brazil Art & Culture/Education
4 Alexander Maliakel John  Brunei Darussalam Medicine
5 Vaikuntam Iyer Lakshmanan  Canada Community Welfare
6 Joginder Singh Nijjar Croatia Art & Culture/Education
7 Ramjee Prasad  Denmark Information Technology
8 Kannan Ambalam Ethiopia Community Welfare
9 Amal Kumar Mukhopadhyay  Community Welfare/Medicine Germany
10 Mohamed Irfaan Ali (Guyana President) Guyana Politics/Community Welfare
11 Reena Vinod Pushkarna  Israel Business/Community Welfare
12 Maqsooda Sarfi Shiotani Japan Education
13 Rajagopal  Mexico Education
14 Amit Kailash Chandra Lath  Poland Business/Community Welfare
15 Parmanand Sukhumal Daswani  Republic of Congo Community Welfare
16 Piyush Gupta  Singapore Business
17 Mohanlal Hira  South Africa Community Welfare
18 Sanjaykumar Shivabhai Patel South Sudan Business/Community Welfare
19 Sivakumar Nadesan  Sri Lanka Community Welfare
20 Dewanchandrebhose Sharman  Suriname Community Welfare
21 Archana Sharma  Switzerland Science & Technology
22 Frank Arthur Seepersad Trinidad & Tobago Community Welfare/Education
23 Siddharth Balachandran  UAE Business/Community Welfare
24 Chandrakant Babubhai Patel UK Media
25 Darshan Singh Dhaliwal USA Business/Community Welfare
26 Rajesh Subramaniam USA Business
27 Ashok Kumar Tiwary  Uzbekistan Business

About the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman

The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman (Overseas Indian Honour/Award) is the highest Indian award for Non-resident Indian and Overseas Citizen of India or an organisation or institution established and run by Non-Resident Indians or Persons of Indian Origin, constituted by the Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs, Government of India in conjunction with the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (Non-Resident Indian Day), to honour exceptional and meritorious contribution in their chosen field/profession. The award is given by the President of India. Since 2016, the Government of India has doubled the number of awardees each year to 30 after a decision to grant the award once every two years.

Pravasi Bharatiya Samman (PBS) is conferred for outstanding contributions in any of the following areas:

  • “Social and humanitarian causes in India or abroad”
  • “Better understanding of India”
  • “Support to India’s causes and concerns in a tangible way”
  • “Building closer links between India, the overseas Indian community and their country of residence;”
  • “Welfare of the local Indian community”
  • “Philanthropic and charitable work”
  • “Eminence in one’s field or outstanding work, which has enhanced India’s prestige in the country of residence; or”
  • “Eminence in skills which has enhanced India’s prestige in that country (for non-professional workers).”

Find More Awards News Here


17th Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award 2023 announced_5.1


UIDAI HQ Building wins top Green Building Award_90.1


Which is the venue of the 17th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas 2023?

The 17th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas 2023 Convention will be held in Indore (Madhya Pradesh), India from 8-10 January, 2023.

When Pravasi Bharatiya Divas started?

Atal Bihari Vajpayee, received the report of the Committee at a public function at Vigyan Bhavan in New Delhi on 8 January 2002, and announced the "Pravasi Bharatiya Divas" (PBD) on 9 January 2002.

What is the theme of 17th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas?

As per the Ministry of External Affairs, the theme for Pravasi Bharatiya Divas 2023 will be “Diaspora: Reliable Partners for India's Progress in Amrit Kaal”. This theme highlights the importance of the Indian diaspora in contributing to India's progress.

Which day is Pravasi day?

Pravasi Bharatiya Divas is celebrated every year on 9th January to mark the contribution of the overseas Indian community in the development of India.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *