Home   »   Awards and Honours   »   Spanish Film Director and writer Carlos...

53rd IFFI: Spanish Film Director and writer Carlos Saura to be given Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award

53rd IFFI: Spanish Film Director and writer Carlos Saura to be given Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award_4.1

Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement award

Spanish filmmaker Carlos Saura, who received the Golden Bear for Best Director at the Berlin International Film Festival for Deprisa Deprisa, along with two Silver Bears for La caza and Peppermint Frappe, a BAFTA for Carmen and three awards at Cannes, among several others, will be honoured with the Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award and an eight-film retrospective at IFFI. 

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

The announcement was made by the Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting, L Murugan in New Delhi. The international section is an important and focused area of this time, and more than 180 films have been selected to screen at the festival. The Minister informed that a children’s film package, suggested by UNICEF, has been introduced for the first time in IFFI, and which would include the screening of about seven films.

About the 53rd IFFI:

The 53rd edition of the International Film Festival of India (IFFI) is set to be held between November 20 and 28. According to the official statement, The IFFI has also announced the line-up for its Indian Panorama segment in which several feature and non-feature films will be showcased.

Important segments of 53rd IFFI

  • Opening Film and Closing Film

The Austrian film ‘Alma and Oskar’, directed by Dieter Berner, will open the annual festival while Krzysztof Zanussi’s ‘Perfect Number’ is the closing film.

  • Country Focus

France is the ‘Spotlight’ country and 8 films will be screened under ‘Country Focus’ package.

  • Indian Panorama

The ‘Indian Panorama’ will open with Prithvi Konanur’s Kannada film ‘Hadinelentu’, while ‘The Show Must Go On’ by Divya Cowasji will flag off the non-feature film section. There will be special screenings of Pan Nalin’s Chello Show—The Last Film Show, India’s official entry to the Oscars in the Best Foreign Language category and Madhur Bhandarkar’s India Lockdown.

  • ‘Indian Restored Classics’

A few films from the National Film Archives of India (NFAI) will also be showcased by the NFDC in the ‘Indian Restored Classics’ section. These include Sohrab Modi’s 1957 costume- drama Nausherwan-E-Adil, Ramesh Maheshwary’s 1969 National Award-winning Punjabi film Nanak Nam Jahaz Hai, K Vishwanath’s 1980 Telugu musical drama Sankarabharnam and two Satyajit Ray classics, the 1977 period-drama Shatranj Ke Khiladi and the 1989 social- drama Ganashatru.

  • Dadasaheb Phalke winner retrospective

Three films of 52nd Dadasaheb Phalke awardee (declared in the 68th National Film Awards) Asha Parekh –Teesri Manzil, Do Badan and Kati Patang will be screened as part of the Asha Parekh retrospective.

  • Homage

The ‘Homage’ section will include fifteen Indian and five international films. Tributes will be paid to Bharat Ratna Lata Mangeshkar, singer-composer Bappi Lahiri, Kathak maestro Pt. Birju Maharaj, actors Ramesh Deo, Shivkumar Subhramanium, T. Rama Rao, Vatsala Deshmukh, Maheshwari Amma, Salim Ghouse, singer KK, director Tarun Majumder, director-producer Ravi Tandon and Saawan Kumar Tak, actor and theater artist Nipon Goswami, actor and film maker Pratap Pothen, actor Krishnam Raju and singer Bhupinder Singh.

In the International section, homage will be paid to the film geniuses Bob Rafelson, Ivan Reitman, Peter Bogdanovich, Douglas Trumbell and Monica Vitti.

Find More Awards News Here

53rd IFFI: Spanish Film Director and writer Carlos Saura to be given Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award_5.1Shlok Mukherjee wins India's 2022 Doodle for Google_70.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *