Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   An Seyoung Won Women's singles final...

An Seyoung Won Women’s singles final at India Open Badminton Championship

Korean sensation An Seyoung wins the women’s singles final in the India Open Badminton Championship held at D. Jadhav Indoor Stadium in New Delhi. An Seyoung defeated the World No. 1 Japanese Akane Yamaguchi 15-21, 21-16, and 21-12 at the India Open Badminton Championship.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

An Seyoung Won Women’s singles final at India Open Badminton Championship- Key Points

  • It was a two-time world championship and world no.1 Yamaguchi’s third straight final on the BWF World Tour.
  • Akane Yamaguchi lost the opening game 15-21 before coming back to win the match with solid defense and an array of strokes. She won the second game 21-16.
  • The match lasted one hour and two minutes, this was also An SeYoung’s sixth win against Yamaguchi, who won ten times previously.

About An Seyoung

An Seyoung is a South Korean Badminton player from Gwangju. She has been awarded as 2019 Most Promising Player of the Year by the BWF. In 2018, An Seyoung was selected to join the national team and became the first junior high school student on the Korean National Team.

She represented Korea at the 2018 Uber Cup in Bangkok and Asian Games in Jakarta. In 2019, she bagged the BWF World Tour Title at the Super 300 New Zealand defeating the 2012 Olympic Gold Medallist Li Xuerui of China in the finals.

Also Read:

Laxman Rawat Won National Sports Club of India Snooker Open Crown 2023

Women’s U19 T20 World Cup 2023 Schedule and Points Table

Find More Sports News Here


An Seyoung Won Women's singles final at India Open Badminton Championship_4.1


Indian batter Ishan Kishan hits fastest ODI double hundred off 126 balls_80.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *